

Galaxy S26 FE underwater photo test, natural light. AquaExposure score: 3.2/5. A solid sensor, and a housing that doesn't exist yet.
Samsung announced the Galaxy S26 FE on August 27, 2026, on sale from September 4. On paper, it's the usual FE promise: most of the S26 experience for less money. Underwater, that promise never holds up quite so simply.
The S26 Ultra we already tested benefits from a titanium chassis, native Ocean Mode, and a complete DiveVolk housing ecosystem. The FE inherits a solid sensor and a more conventional aluminum chassis. The question isn't whether it takes good photos out of the water, it does. The question is what's left of that quality once it's sealed inside a housing, at fifteen meters, in natural light.
Overall Score: 3.2/5
| Criterion | Score | What it means |
|---|---|---|
| Optics and sensor | 3.2/5 | An honest 50MP main sensor, but several manufacturer data points are missing |
| RAW and color | 3.6/5 | Native RAW in Pro mode, Expert RAW unconfirmed, no optical partnership |
| Storage | 2.5/5 | No memory card slot, USB connector likely a step down from the S26 Ultra |
| Thermal management | 3.0/5 | Aluminum and Gorilla Glass Victus+, no announced vapor chamber |
| Battery | 4.5/5 | 4,900 mAh silicon-carbon, 1,200 rated cycles, the real upgrade of this model |
| Autofocus | 3.0/5 | Standard PDAF, without the AI refinements found on Ultra models |
| Housing | 2.0/5 | No confirmed dedicated adapter, only the universal Kraken route is verified |
This camera is ideal for: divers who want a compact, affordable Samsung phone for reef snapshots in natural light, without demanding video needs.
This camera is not ideal for: those looking for Ocean Mode, a real touchscreen housing ecosystem, or advanced video. For that, the already-tested Galaxy S26 Ultra remains Samsung's strongest reference.
The 50-megapixel main sensor opens at f/1.8 with optical stabilization. That's a solid starting point for natural-light reef photography, where every tenth of an f-stop matters against the red spectrum lost within the first few meters.
The 12-megapixel ultra-wide closes at f/2.2 with a 123-degree field of view, comfortable for wide scenes. The 8-megapixel telephoto offers 3x optical zoom, useful for approaching a subject without disturbing its behavior, one of the principles we teach throughout our courses.
[!NOTE] For more details Main sensor: 50 MP, f/1.8, OIS, 84-degree field of view. Ultra-wide: 12 MP, f/2.2, 123-degree field of view. Telephoto: 8 MP, f/2.4, 3x optical zoom and up to 30x digital, OIS. Samsung doesn't publish the exact sensor size in inches, the native ISO range, the minimum focus distance, burst speed with RAW buffer depth, or shutter lag. These five unknowns receive a neutral score of 3, for lack of a verifiable source. Sensor size is estimated in the 1/1.5 to 1/1.8-inch range by comparison with Samsung's 50MP sensors on the non-Ultra S24 and S25 generations, without official confirmation for the S26 FE. B1 Score: 3.2.
The Galaxy S26 FE's native Pro mode captures DNG files, which remains the foundation for any serious underwater post-processing work. It's what lets you recover the reds lost within the first few meters of water.
What's missing is confirmation that Expert RAW, the app that adds lockable Kelvin white balance, a software ND filter, and multi-exposure mode on Galaxy S Ultra models, works on the S26 FE. Samsung doesn't specify it, and none of the spec sheets we checked settle the question.
[!NOTE] For more details Native RAW in Pro mode, rated 5. Bit depth not documented for this specific model, estimated at 10 bits by analogy with other recent Samsung Pro modes, rated 3 out of caution. Lockable Kelvin white balance in video unconfirmed for the S26 FE, rated 3. Maximum video codec not specified in the launch announcement, likely H.265 without a native Log profile given the price positioning, rated 3. Professional third-party Android apps (MotionCam Pro, Blackmagic Camera) are compatible with the standard Galaxy ecosystem, rated 4.5. Color science: proprietary Samsung image processing, no optical partnership such as Zeiss or Leica, rated 3. B2 Score: 3.6.
The Galaxy S26 FE has no microSD slot, like nearly all recent Galaxy S phones. It starts at 128GB, with 256GB and 512GB tiers. Samsung doesn't specify the exact USB-C generation in its launch materials, a point where previous FE generations tended to limit to USB 2.0 to keep costs down relative to the rest of the S26 lineup.
For a diver shooting RAW and video across three dives, no memory card slot means total reliance on offloading to an external drive between outings, and a slow port would make that step painful.
[!NOTE] For more details 128, 256, or 512GB depending on the model, no expansion slot. USB-C generation not specified by Samsung, unconfirmed at this time, scored on the more cautious assumption (USB-C 2.0) given the precedent of earlier FE generations. Worth verifying before any purchase intended for heavy dive use. B3 Score: 2.5.
The chassis pairs an aluminum frame with Gorilla Glass Victus+ on both sides, rated IP68 for accidental immersion up to 1.5 meters for 30 minutes. That's a more conventional build than the Galaxy S26 Ultra's titanium, but without the aluminum-plus-vapor-chamber combination that worsens condensation on other devices in this comparison, as we explain in our article on overheating and condensation in underwater housings.
In practice, condensation risk stays moderate in temperate and tropical water, and calls for the same caution as elsewhere in cold water below 15 degrees.
[!NOTE] For more details Aluminum chassis, Corning Gorilla Glass Victus+ front and back, IP68 (1.5m, 30 minutes). No vapor chamber announced by Samsung for this model, no documented MIL-STD certification. B4 Score: 3.0.
This is where the S26 FE genuinely surprises. Its 4,900 mAh battery switches to silicon-carbon chemistry, a first for the FE line, rated for 1,200 cycles before 20% capacity loss according to the European EPREL sheet. That's a real leap over previous generations.
45W fast charging gets you to 69% in 30 minutes, plenty of time during a surface interval between two dives to head back out with a comfortable margin.
[!NOTE] For more details 4,900 mAh, silicon-carbon Li-Ion chemistry, 1,200 documented cycles (EPREL sheet) before 20% capacity loss. 45W wired charging (69% in 30 minutes), 15W Qi2 wireless charging, reverse wireless power share. No manufacturer data published on cold-water performance. B5 Score: 4.5.
The S26 FE carries a standard multi-zone phase-detection autofocus, without the AI refinements highlighted on Ultra models. It locks onto still or slow subjects reliably enough, which covers most reef photography, but nothing guarantees ideal behavior on a fast fish in murky water.
[!NOTE] For more details Standard multi-zone PDAF, no mention of laser or ToF assist, no documented AI particle rejection, no confirmed native Focus Peaking. Consistent with the FE line's mid-range positioning. B6 Score: 3.0.
This is the point that should weigh most heavily in a dive-focused purchase decision. Our smartphone housing comparator lists the Galaxy S26 and Galaxy S26+ as compatible with the full DiveVolk SeaTouch 4 Max lineup, as well as the Kraken KRH08 V2. The Galaxy S26 FE, launched a month later with different dimensions, isn't listed yet.
The S26 FE's official dimensions, 161.6 x 76.9 x 7.4 mm, fit comfortably within the Kraken KRH08 V2's maximum window (174.4 x 81.3 x 8.8 mm). That's the only verifiable route today, pending DiveVolk confirmation for this specific model.
[!NOTE] For more details No DiveVolk adapter confirmed for the Galaxy S26 FE as of this test. Dimensional compatibility confirmed with the Kraken KRH08 V2 (85 meters, physical Bluetooth buttons). The Galaxy S26 and Galaxy S26+ are covered by the full DiveVolk lineup and by Kraken per our comparator, which makes an adapter extension to the S26 FE plausible without being confirmed. B7 Score: 2.0.
Available housings. No dedicated DiveVolk housing confirmed at this time. Kraken KRH08 V2, 85 meters, physical Bluetooth buttons, approximately $399, compatible by dimensions.
Field workflow. With no memory card slot and a USB-C generation Samsung doesn't specify, plan to offload files to an external drive between outings rather than counting on fast on-site transfer.
Points to watch. The lack of confirmation on Expert RAW and Ocean Mode, two features that make the difference on Galaxy S Ultra models. If those matter to you, the already-tested Galaxy S26 Ultra remains Samsung's most complete option for diving.
Pricing. Official European launch price: €799 for 128GB, €899 for 256GB, €1,099 for 512GB, available from September 4, 2026.
Used market. Too early, the device was just announced. For a dive-dedicated purchase at a comparable budget, the Galaxy S26 Ultra we tested offers a far more mature housing ecosystem.
The Galaxy S26 FE does what you'd expect from a Samsung phone at this price: good daytime photos, and a battery that finally holds up thanks to silicon-carbon chemistry. But an underwater camera is judged on its complete system, not its sensor alone.
Here, the system is uncertain on two points that really matter: no confirmed dedicated housing, no documented Ocean Mode. Until DiveVolk publishes an adapter for this specific model, I'd recommend waiting, or turning to the Galaxy S26 Ultra, whose housing ecosystem is genuinely ready today.
Is the Samsung Galaxy S26 FE good for underwater photography? With a score of 3.2/5, it's a decent but unremarkable device for diving, without the Ocean Mode or dedicated housing of the Galaxy S26 Ultra.
What underwater housing works with the Samsung Galaxy S26 FE? No DiveVolk adapter is confirmed as of this test. Dimensions fit within the universal Kraken KRH08 V2 housing.
Does the Galaxy S26 FE shoot RAW while diving? Yes, through native Pro mode in DNG. Expert RAW compatibility with this model isn't confirmed.
What's the battery life for a day of 3 dives? The 4,900 mAh silicon-carbon battery, rated for 1,200 cycles, comfortably lasts three dives with the screen off between immersions.
Does the Galaxy S26 FE have Samsung's Ocean Mode? Nothing in the launch announcement suggests it does. The mode remains documented only on Ultra models and the Z Fold 7 at this time.
Choosing a camera is one thing, knowing how to frame an encounter in natural light without scaring the animal is another. That's what we teach in our AquaExposure training program.
With a score of 3.2/5 on the AquaExposure scale, the Galaxy S26 FE is a decent but unremarkable device for diving. Its triple camera handles reef photography fine, but it lacks the documented Ocean Mode and the dedicated housing that make the already-tested Galaxy S26 Ultra a stronger choice.
No DiveVolk adapter is confirmed for the S26 FE as of this test, while the S26 and S26+ are already covered. The official dimensions of 161.6 x 76.9 x 7.4 mm fit within the universal Kraken KRH08 V2 housing, which remains the only verified option while waiting for confirmation.
Yes, through the native Pro mode, which captures DNG files. The Expert RAW app, which adds advanced features on Galaxy S Ultra models, is not confirmed to be compatible with the S26 FE at this time.
The 4,900 mAh silicon-carbon battery is rated for 1,200 cycles before 20% capacity loss, a real step up from previous FE generations. Three dives pass comfortably with the screen off between immersions.
Nothing in the launch announcement suggests it does. Ocean Mode remains documented only on the Galaxy S26 Ultra, S25 Ultra, and Z Fold 7 through the Expert RAW app, never on an FE-tier device.